47.1 F
Palm Springs
Sunday, April 5, 2020

The BNP Parabas Open Winner Circle

Must read

Protesters threaten to stab Mitch McConnell outside his home

A mob of angry gun control protesters gathered outside Senator Mitch McConnell’s Louisville home and chanted death threats in a bid to...

Senators Back Protections for Undocumented Military Family Members

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – Immigrants' rights groups say fear is spreading among people in the U.S. military who have undocumented family members, after...

Community Challenge Grants Improve Livability Across CA

SAN DIEGO, Calif. – Four California communities will see some significant improvements in the next few months – thanks to the 2019 AARP Community...

CA English-Learner Programs to Get $10 Million in Current Budget

SACRAMENTO, Calif. — One in four public-school students in California is an English learner, and now programs to help them become more...

Story and photos by Pat Krause
Story and photos by Pat Krause

The BNP Parabas Open has a couple new repeat winners for 2013. These world class tennis players have thrilled fans with their extraordinarily fine exciting play on the courts. This two weeks of tennis at the Indian Wells Tennis Gardens is always looked forward to by tennis fans. The event started on March 4th and lasted until march 17th when the final men’s and women’s championships were played.

Maria Sharapova defeated Caroline Wozniacki in two sets. Sharapova seemed to control the whole game. She played like she wanted that trophy again for a second time. She beat Wozniacki who was the 2011 BNP Parabas Open. The weather for the whole open was just fantastic. A bit warmer than usual but the fans loved the sunshine and filled the stadium each day.

Rafael Nadal had a little harder time beating Juan Martin Del Potro. Del Potro started strong with his lighting serve winning the first set 6-4. Nadal showed he has the right stuff when he came back winning the next 2 sets, 6-3 and 6-4. This is Nadal’s 3rd win at the BNP Parabas Open. He dropped his racket and fell to the court as he realized he had won. He was so excited he ran over to owner Larry Ellison to shake his hand and others on the 1st row. He ran to his trainer and friends before greeting the crowd with his arms in the air. It was a truly exciting match to see these two players make extremely difficult saves and serve returns. They were both all over the court with long volleys before one or the other would make a mistake. It was a, sit on the edge of your chair, match.

Bob and Mike Bryant broke the spell and won the doubles tournament after the 14th try here. Women doubles winners were Elena Vesnina and Ekaterina Makarove. Attendance records were broken with over 320,000 attending and day and night matches attendance records were also broken as many matches were sold out. Title Sponsor PNB Parabas announced that they have agreed to continue to be the Sponsor for another 5 years. Ground breaking has begun already for the new addition that will be done for the 2014 BNP Parabas Open.


More articles

Latest article

Border Patrol Arrests Woman Attempting to Smuggle Meth

SALTON CITY, Calif. – El Centro SectorBorder Patrol agents working at the Highway 86 immigration checkpoint arrested a woman suspected of smuggling methamphetamine...

Medical marijuana workers start unionizing with government help

Marijuana may still be illegal at the federal level, but the US labor board believes pot workers still have the same rights as any...

America’s first recreational pot licenses issued in Colorado

Colorado made history on Monday, becoming the first state in the US to issue hundreds of licenses for recreational marijuana businesses. Colorado's Marijuana Enforcement Division...

Praised & Maligned Medical Marijuana Collective to Celebrate 3rd Anniversary

Praised & Maligned Medical Marijuana Collective to Celebrate 3rd Anniversary Riverside’s actions to close the collective is at the California Supreme Court, but they are...

Obama administration considering ways to overturn marijuana legalization in Washington and Colorado

New legislation in Washington state went into effect this week that legalizes for the first time in ages the possession of marijuana. Federal law...